AlphaTrion's Base

Better than your least favorite DJ

Welcome to AlphaTrion’s Base

Well, this is my new home on the internet. Update your bookmarks and RSS Feeds. If you didn’t have a bookmark to my old blog or weren’t subscribed, here’s your chance!

I’m putting it up a bit prematurely, still looks a bit boring. Banners and a better looking design coming soon (probably not too soon to be honest). And by better design of course I mean flaming text and frames a la 1998 Angelfire.

Content is king right, so who cares if the design is a little bland? “But,” I hear you say, “there’s no content.” Touche. Well, content is coming. What content? I like lists so here is my forthcoming content in list form!

1. Links to my old mixes should be up by tonight or tomorrow.

2. An about me section where you can read a painfully boring autobiography and find my contact info.

3. Possibly an FAQ section covering such questions as “What’s that song?” “What’s this song at 1:33?” “Who does that song?” and “Do you know the one that goes (insert horn noises made with the mouth)?”

4. Videos I shoot at various jams

5. A calender of events so you know when and where I’m playing. For what I’m playing refer to #3 after said event is over.

Of course there will be blog posts. But what topics will I cover? You’re in luck. I have another list!

1. What being a DJ for b-boying and All Styles battles exactlly entails. A few other blogs cover this as well, check the links section for the excellent blogs by Skeme Richards, DJ B-Ryan of Little Green Apples and a few other DJs. I feel that there are enough different perspectives on this topic that it doesn’t hurt to have one more covering it.

2. History and explanation of various regional dance styles and music genres. I plan to write some posts covering a lot of the music I play at All Styles events and the dances associated with those genres. So expect to see stuff about New Orleans Bounce, Baltimore Club, DC Go-Go, Chicago Juke, Detroit Jit, Vogue, House, Funk Carioca, etc.

3. A few serato tips and tricks and the convergence of technology and vinyl. I’m a vinyl nerd no doubt about it but I also love the toys and technology associated with my craft so I’ll try to give whatever pointers I can to those just learning the software and maybe even to those who’ve been playing with it for a while. Also, topics like digitizing your vinyl collection and the importance of sound quality.

4. Coverage/reviews of Jams I travel to.

5. More Lists

6. Whatever else I decide is relevant to my (and your) interests.

 

So that’s it. Hope you’ll come back regularly and enjoy.

 

-AlphaTrion

One comment on “Welcome to AlphaTrion’s Base

  1. dirt mcgurk
    January 21, 2011

    hey mom look im blogging!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2011 by in DJ'ing.

Navigation